Year of 2018

Inhale and exhale, it’s Yoga Day

You may not be able to join a massive yoga session at Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Colorado, but you can celebrate both the summer solstice today, and Yoga Day, by trying a sun salutation or two on your own. Yoga not your thing? No problem. It’s still solstice, and in most of the Northern Hemisphere, that’s considered the first official day of summer, and that’s reason enough to celebrate. As for the yoga aficionados reading this, please step to the front of your mat...

International Day of Yoga, or commonly and unofficially referred to as Yoga Day, is celebrated annually on 21 June since its inception in 2015. An international day for yoga was declared unanimously by the United Nations General Assembly. Yoga is a physical, mental and spiritual practice attributed mostly to India. The Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi in his UN address suggested the date of 21 June, as it is the longest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere and shares special significance in many parts of the world.
First occurred: Jun 21, 2015
Also called: Yoga Day
Next time: 21 June 2019
Observed by: Worldwide
Significance: Official United Nations promotion of global health, harmony and peace
Related to: Yoga, meditation, cultural performances, health and fitness
Indian Navy personnel perform yoga on board INS Jalashwa in 2015
Indian Navy personnel perform yoga on board INS Jalashwa