Happy Nowruz – سال نو مبارک

Nowruz is the name of the Iranian New Year also known as the Persian New Year, which is celebrated worldwide by Iranian people, along with some other ethno-linguistic groups, as the beginning of the Iranian New Year.

Nowruz 2016

A new day. A fresh start. The return of the sun. Nowruz or (Farsi: نوروز) literally means “new day” in Persian, and is celebrated in countries around the world, including Iran, Iraq, India, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, and Kyrgyzstan. Nowruz celebrates the Vernal Equinox when the day is evenly split between light and night.

Special pastries, nuts, fruit, and fresh flowers, are popular today with additional variations by region. In parts of Iran and Azerbaijan, colored eggs, bonfires, and red ribbons signal the coming of the sun and new birth.



Global Times of Occurance


Iran Time : Sunday March 20, 2016, 08:00:12 AM
ايران: ساعت 08:00:12 صبح – یکشنبه 1 فروردین 1395

Los Angeles Time (PST*) : Saturday March 19, 2016, 09:30:12 PM
لس آنجلس: ساعت 09:30:12 شب – شنبه 19 مارس 2016

Tehran: Sunday March 20, 2016, 08:00:12 AM
New York: Sunday March 20, 2016, 12:30:12 AM*
Paris: Sunday March 20, 2016, 05:30:12 AM
Toronto: Sunday March 20, 2016, 12:30:12 AM*
San Francisco: Saturday March 19, 2016, 09:30:12 PM*
London: Sunday March 20, 2016, 04:30:12 AM
Vancouver: Saturday March 19, 2016, 09:30:12 PM*
Houston: Saturday March 19, 2016, 11:30:12 PM*
Stockholm: Sunday March 20, 2016, 05:30:12 AM

Nowruz Times

Other Cities Around the World

A Historical Day

(1413) Henry V assumes the throne of England
1413 With the death of his father, the 26-year-old Henry V assumes England’s throne. Later crowned on April 9, 1413, he will go on to lead a stirring victory at Agincourt, almost conquer France, and be immortalized more than a century later by Shakespeare. .
(1616) Sir Walter Raleigh released from Tower of London
Explorer of exotic lands, Queen Elizabeth’s confidant, and the Tower of London’s prisoner for the last 13 years, Sir Walter Raleigh is today freed. Ill fortune finds him again two years later and he will be executed. . 1616
(1942) General MacArthur promises, “I shall return”
1942 Having retreated from the war-torn, Japanese-dominated Philippines to the relative safety of Australia, General Douglas MacArthur makes a speech, vowing “I shall return.” He will do just that two years later, to lead the Philippines Campaign of 1944 and ’45. .
(2003) The Iraq War begins
Coalition forces from the US, UK, Australia, and Poland begin moving from the Iraqi-Kuwaiti border into Basra Province, and the invasion of Iraq is underway. The ensuing conflict, which will come to be known as the Iraq War, will end eight years later. . 2003